Ireland: top oyster farmers announced at 2005 BIM-Guinness Quality Oyster Award –

Ireland: top oyster farmers announced at 2005 BIM-Guinness Quality Oyster Award Published:  02 December, 2005

THE winners of the 10th All-Ireland BIM-Guinness Quality Oyster Awards were announced last Friday nearing the end of a year when oyster production showed an annual increase of 20% and BIM urged Irish consumers to enjoy a healthy Christmas by buying quality Irish oysters, amongst other seafood.

The winning oysters from this year’s awards came from Irish county’s Donegal, Waterford, Wexford and Mayo as their proud growers presented a product that is renowned as a rich source of dietary zinc, which is important for a healthy immune system and is also associated with promoting vigour and energy. Oysters are also a valuable supply source of calcium, iodine, selenium and phosphorous in forms that are readily absorbed into the human body.

Speaking at the awards ceremony held in Fenit, Co Kerry, BIM Chairman, Mr Hugh Byrne, congratulated the winners on their commitment to produce a high quality product. “I am proud of my long association with these awards, both as a government minister and as chairman of BIM. Down the years, I have seen the market awareness of the Irish oyster growers grow and increase to the point where they now supply a world-class product that is highly prized by the most discerning of consumers. I would advise anyone to try some Irish oysters, they are a sure recipe for health and vitality!”

In the Gigas Oyster (over 75 tonnes) category, first, second and third prizes were awarded to Ed Gallagher, Irish Premium Oysters, Donegal Town; Des Moore, Seabreeze Ltd, Co Donegal and Jim Harty, Dungarvan Shellfish, Waterford, respectively.

In the under 75 tonnes category, first, second and third prizes went to Noel Roche, Duncormac, Co Wexford; Eugene Fitzpatrick, Fitzpatrick Oysters, Co Wexford and Sean O’Grady, Murrisk Shellfish, Co Mayo, respectively.

In the Native Oyster category, first prize was awarded to Sean O’Grady of Clew Bay Oyster Co-op. The Award’s’ judges were master chef and owner of the Michelin-starred “L’Ecrivain” restaurant, Mr Derry Clarke and top Parisian chef, Monsieur Bernard Gonthier. is published by Special Publications. Special Publications also publish European Fish Trader, Fishing Monthly, Fish Farming Today, Fish Farmer, the Fish Industry Yearbook, the Scottish Seafood Processors Federation Diary, the Fish Farmer Handbook and a range of wallplanners.

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *